Keep Your Courage!

There was once a soldier who was known for being brave in battle. Even in the middle of a war, he wasn’t afraid. Someone asked him, “Why aren’t you scared? How can you fight as though you’re not worried?” He said, “I can’t die until the day God has decided for me. That gives me courage. No matter how fierce the fighting, I can’t die until the day God has decided for me.”

That soldier sounds a lot like Paul in the Bible. Paul wasn’t caught in the middle of a battle, but he was caught in the middle of a fierce hurricane. Can you imagine that? Paul was in the middle of the ocean with huge waves slamming against his boat. Doesn’t that sound terrifying?

As the winds raged, everyone on the ship panicked. It looked like there was no hope. It seemed like they were all going to die. But Paul wasn’t scared. Why? He knew that he couldn’t die until the day God had decided for him. He said, “Last night an angel of the God to whom I belong and whom I serve stood beside me and said, ‘Do not be afraid, Paul. You must stand trial before Caesar; and God has graciously given you the lives of all who sail with you.’ So keep up your courage, men, for I have faith in God that it will happen just as he told me” (Acts 27:23-25).

God probably hasn’t told you exactly how long you’re going to live. But God has planned out every day of your life, just like he did for Paul. No matter what scary thing you face, no matter how much the waves rage, you can be sure, “I can’t die until the day God has decided for me.”

Do you see how that makes you brave? Like that soldier, like Paul, keep your courage! Even in the middle of the storm, you can trust, “I can’t die until the day God has decided for me.”

Prayer: Dear Jesus, sometimes life makes us feel like we’re in the middle of a storm. We get worried and afraid. Forgive us for not trusting in you. Help us to believe your promise that you have planned out every day of our lives. In all the storms of life, give us faith to say, “We can’t die until the day God has decided for us.” Amen.

1 Comment

  1. Amen glory to God. I cannot die until the day God has decided for me. No fear of flying. It’s so comforting to know that my life is in His capable hands

    Like

Leave a comment