A Bronze Wall

When was the last time you prayed that God make you into bronze wall? How about an iron pillar? A fortified city? Sound strange? When God called Jeremiah to be his prophet, that’s what God promised to make him. “Today I have made you a fortified city, an iron pillar and a bronze wall to stand against the whole land—against the kings of Judah, its officials, its priests and the people of the land” (Jeremiah 1:18). What a somber promise. Life was going to be hard for Jeremiah as God’s messenger. People were going to reject him. But God was going to make him strong, strong like an iron pillar, like a bronze wall.

Wouldn’t that be a great prayer for us today? Society is not getting any closer to Jesus. The reality is that it probably won’t. Life is going to keep getting harder for believers in Jesus. Rejection will grow. So what do we pray? “God, make me into a bronze wall, into an iron pillar, into a fortified city. Make me strong and convinced of your love for me in Jesus, no matter what I have to face.” May God’s words to Jeremiah be true for us today, “‘They will fight against you but will not overcome you, for I am with you and will rescue you,’ declares the Lord” (Jeremiah 1:19). What a promise! You are a bronze wall in Christ.

4 Comments

  1. Man I love this teaching. I so needed it today. I declare I am a defended city. Thanks for posting this timely word.
    JS- Michigan.

    Like

Leave a comment