Feet Like a Deer

I once saw a bighorn sheep in the wild. It was amazing! The bighorn sheep was galloping on rocky cliffs. There were so many cracks and crevices, so many rocks and boulders. But that bighorn sheep? He didn’t mind at all. He jogged with his head held high, not one bit afraid as his hooves skipped along the rocks.

Wouldn’t it be great to live like that? Confident. Unafraid. Unfortunately, that’s often not how I feel. I face the cracks and crevices and rocks and boulders of life with doubts instead of confidence. With fear instead of courage. I think: “There’s no way. It’s too hard for me!”

Except, it’s not just me. Life is not just me trying to find my way. It’s me and God. It’s you and God. Do you know what God does for us? David writes, “It is God who arms me with strength and keeps my way secure. He makes my feet like the feet of a deer; he causes me to stand on the heights” (Psalm 18:32-33).

Hear that? It is God who gives us strength. It is God who keeps our feet secure. It is God who enables us to walk through the cliffs and crevices of life without fear or anxiety. It is Jesus and his forgiveness that enable us to face rocks and boulders with heads held high. Self-confidence is overrated. True confidence comes from God. He makes our feet like the feet of a deer!

Leave a comment